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IMPORTANT RENEWAL NOTICE 
 

 
TO:    Compliance/Registration Department for Non-FINRA Firms 
 
FROM: Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance, Bureau of Securities 
 
RE:  2019 Renewal of Broker-Dealer Registrations 
 
DATE:  November 1, 2018 
 
 
The following Renewal Checklist and Supplemental Information must be filed with the Nebraska 
Department of Banking and Finance, Bureau of Securities (“Department”), by December 21, 2018, to 
renew the firm’s Nebraska broker-dealer registration.  Failure to fully comply with renewal requirements 
may result in termination of the firm’s registration in Nebraska. 
 
2019 NEBRASKA BROKER-DEALER RENEWAL CHECKLIST:  Carefully complete the enclosed 
2019 Nebraska Broker-Dealer Renewal Checklist (“Checklist”).  The Department will use information 
set forth thereon to process the firm’s registration renewal. 
 
FORM BD:  Please review the firm’s Form BD for updates and/or amendments. If applicable, return the 
amended Form BD with your renewal submission. An initial Form BD can be found at: 
http://www.sec.gov/about/forms/formbd.pdf 
 
DESIGNATED COMPLIANCE PRINCIPAL:  Nebraska requires one designated compliance principal 
for the firm.  Please include on the Checklist the name of the designated compliance principal listed on 
Form BD, Schedule A, who has passed the Series 24 and either the Series 63 or Series 66 examinations.  
If the principal has not passed the Series 24 exam, the firm’s registration will be limited, as set forth in 
48 NAC 4.006. 
 
AGENTS:  Any amendments to Form U-4, for each officer, director, partner, sole proprietor, agent or 
other individual who will be authorized to conduct securities activities in Nebraska are to be filed.  For 
any individual who will be initially registering in Nebraska, include a complete Form U-4 and 
documentary evidence the individual has met the Department’s examination requirements.   
Form U-4 can be found at: 
http://www.finra.org/web/groups/industry/@ip/@comp/@regis/documents/appsupportdocs/p015112.pdf 
 
 
 



 

ANNUAL AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENT:  The audited financial statement is required to be 
filed with the Department within 90 days of the firm’s fiscal year end date.  Indicate on the Checklist 
how this filing will be accomplished.  If a broker-dealer has a net capital less than $25,000.00, the firm 
is required to have a surety bond in the amount of $25,000.00 and a copy of the bond is to be submitted 
to renew the broker-dealer registration. 
 
CERTIFIED FINANCIAL STATEMENT:  If the Annual Audited Financial Statement is dated prior to 
September 30, 2018, or will not be available prior to the renewal deadline of December 21, 2018, a 
financial statement prepared as of September 30, 2018, or later, and certified by an officer, director or 
general partner of the firm attesting that the financial statement is true and accurate, must be submitted.  
 
FEES:  Nebraska renewal fees are $250 for a broker-dealer and $40 per agent unless exempt. Please 
combine the firm and agent renewal fees into one check.   Pay the amount due by corporate check for all 
Nebraska renewal fees directly to the Department. 
 
WITHDRAWALS:  If you do not wish to renew your registration in Nebraska, file Forms BDW and U-
5 directly with the Department.  The forms are located at: 
http://www.finra.org/Industry/Compliance/Registration/CRD/FilingGuidance/p005235 
 
CITIZENSHIP:  Nebraska law requires every individual receiving a public benefit in the form of a 
professional license from a state agency to provide proof of citizenship or legal presence in the United 
States. A Roster with instructions will be sent to the firm for completion on individuals who have not 
been previously verified.  
 
Any questions you have should be directed to Securities Investigation and Compliance Unit Supervisor 
Rod Griess at 402-471-3445 or email rodney.griess@nebraska.gov. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  



 

 
 
2019 Nebraska Non-FINRA Broker-Dealer Renewal Checklist 
 
Broker-Dealer:    
 
Name of contact person for renewal:   
 
Firm contact, if different from above:   
 
Telephone:   FAX:   
 
E-Mail:   
 
FORM BD:  (Check one)      AMENDED FORM BD ENCLOSED       NO AMENDMENTS 
 
DESIGNATED COMPLIANCE PRINCIPAL (If this is a new individual, submit a Form U-4 & 
proof of exams) 
If this is the same individual, has the Form U-4 been amended since last submission?   
Yes__ No__.  If yes, a current Form U-4 is required to be filed.   
 
_______________________________________________________  
Name of Designated Principal  
 
AGENTS TO BE RENEWED FOR 2019 (NOT LISTED ON SCHEDULE A): Renewal fees required. 
 

1. _________________________________________  

2. _________________________________________  

3. _________________________________________  

4. _________________________________________  

5. _________________________________________  

6. _________________________________________  

If there are additional individuals, list them in your cover letter and provide the following for new 2019 
agents:  A complete and current Form U-4, proof of exams and a $40.00 fee for each unless exempt. 

 
 

CERTIFIED FINANCIAL STATEMENT:  This is required only if the Audited Financial Statement 
is dated prior to September 30, 2018, or will not be available prior to the renewal deadline of December 
21, 2018.  The financial statement is to be certified under the penalty of perjury by an officer, director or 
general partner of the firm. 
 
Check one of the following:     ENCLOSED NOT APPLICABLE 
  



 

 
 
 

ANNUAL AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENT 
 
Annual Audited Financial Statement must be filed with the Department no later than 90 days after the 
firm’s fiscal year end.  The firm’s fiscal year end is  . 
 
Check one of the following: 
 
  2018 Annual Audited Financial Statement has already been filed with the Department. 
 
  2018 Annual Audited Financial Statement is enclosed herewith. 
 
  2018 Annual Audited Financial Statement will be filed with the Department upon completion. 
 
 
If the firm’s net capital is less than $25,000, a surety bond is required and a photocopy is to be submitted 
with these renewal documents. 
 
On behalf of the above-named broker-dealer, I represent that I have authority to execute this document.  
I understand that failure to fully comply with all renewal requirements may result in termination 
of broker-dealer registration. 
 
 
 
        
 Date  Signature                  Printed Name & Title 
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