
GUIDANCE DOCUMENT  

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such 

agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect 

the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on 

regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance 

with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes 

additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the 

document.  
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Who is required to have this license?

Any person in the business of the sale or issuance of payment instruments or stored value or of receiving 
money or monetary value for transmission to a location within or outside the United States by any and all 
means, including wire, facsimile, or electronic transfer.  Money transmission includes bill payment 
services not limited to the right to receive payment of any claim for another but does not include bill 
payment services in which an agent of a payee received money or monetary value on behalf of such 
payee.  Neb. Rev. Stat. § 8-2716. 

Who does not need this license?

This is a partial list of exemptions.  For a complete list of exemptions, please refer to Neb. Rev. Stat. 
§ 8-2724.
 

• United States or any department, agency, or instrumentality thereof
• United States Postal Service
• Financial Institutions including banks, savings and loans, and credit unions chartered by any 

state or by the United States
• An operator of a payment system only to the extent that the payment system provides 

processing, clearing, or settlement services between or among persons who are all exempt 
under this section in connection with wire transfers, credit card transactions, debit card 
transactions, automated clearinghouse transfers, or similar fund transfers.

Pre-requisites for license applications?  

• Net Worth:  At Least $50,000.00 as determined by generally accepted accounting principles.  
Audited financial statements are required to be submitted with the license application and on 
an annual basis thereafter.

• Bond amount:  $100,000.00 minimum bond amount.  The Director may increase the amount for 
good cause.  If the applicant has previously conducted money transmission activities in 
Nebraska, the amount of the bond may need to be increased pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 8-
2727.  The maximum required bond is $250,000.00.

• Authorized delegates and company owned locations:  All applicants must identify all Nebraska 
locations where their business is being conducted.  This should include the identification of any 
company-owned outlets as well as any authorized delegates.  The Nebraska Money 
Transmitter Act mandates the use of an authorized delegate contract and identifies specific 
items which must be addressed in the contract.  
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• Character and fitness:  The applicant must demonstrate experience, character, and general 
fitness to warrant the belief that the applicant’s business will be conducted honestly, fairly, and 
in a manner commanding the confidence and trust of the community.  

WHO TO CONTACT – Contact Nebraska Department of Banking & Finance licensing staff by phone at 
402-471-2171 or send your questions via e-mail to dob.consumerfinance@nebraska.gov for additional 
assistance.

 

THE APPLICANT/LICENSEE IS FULLY RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL OF THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE 
LICENSE FOR WHICH THEY ARE APPLYING.  THE JURISDICTION SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS 
CONTAINED HEREIN ARE FOR GUIDANCE ONLY TO FACILITATE APPLICATION THROUGH THE                
NMLS.  SHOULD YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, PLEASE CONSULT LEGAL COUNSEL.
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