
GUIDANCE DOCUMENT  

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such 

agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect 

the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on 

regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance 

with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes 

additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the 

document.  



FEDERAL COVERED SECURITIES 

 

Q.  What are Nebraska’s filing requirements for a Regulation A, Tier 2 filing? 

A.  The filing requirements are found in Chapter 20 of the Securities Rules.  There are two items 

to be filed:  (a)  A copy of all documents filed with the SEC, OR the uniform filing form found 

here.  (b)  A check for the $200 filing fee made payable to the Nebraska Department of Banking 

and Finance. 

 

Q:  What are Nebraska’s filing requirements for a Form D, Regulation 506 filing? 

A:  The filing requirements are found at Section 8-1108.02 of the Securities Act of Nebraska, 

which is supplemented by Chapter 20 of the Securities Rules.  There are two items to be included 

in a filing:   A copy of the Form D  

  A check for the $200 filing fee made payable to the Nebraska Department  

of Banking and Finance 

 

Q:  The Securities and Exchange Commission has implemented an electronic filing system for 

Form D filings.  Does Nebraska accept Form D filings electronically? 

A.  Yes.  Electronic filing is optional at this time through the online EFD portal developed by the 

North American Securities Administrators Association (“NASAA”).  More information can be 

found at https://www.efdnasaa.org/.   

 

Q.  Does the Department require the appendix pages from the old Form D 

A.  Yes; however if the issuer is filing electronically the sales report submitted with the filing 

provides the necessary information and no additional filing is necessary.     

 

Q:  The current version of the Form D has incorporated a consent to service of process.  Is a 

separate consent necessary if we file using the electronic version of Form D? 

A:  No.  The consent to service of process contained in the current version of Form D is all that 

is required.   

 

Q:  What is the deadline for filing a Form D? 

A:  A Form D must be filed with the Department no later than fifteen days after the first sale in 

Nebraska. Section 8-1108.02 does not include the ability of a filer to cure late notice with a 

request for an Order Curing Late Notice.  Failure to comply with the filing deadline will result in 

the securities failing to qualify for the exemption under this section, and filers will be required to 

either register the securities or withdraw their filing and qualify for a different applicable 

exemption within the Act. 

 

Q.  If I  am required to file an amendment to a Form D with the SEC, must I also file it with the 

Department? 

A.  Yes.  Chapter 20 of the Securities Rules mirrors the language in SEC rules and outlines the 

circumstances that require an amended Form D to be filed.  If SEC rules require the filing of an 

amendment with the SEC, you are also required to file the amendment with the Department.   

 

Q:  Does Nebraska require a special legend on a Private Placement Memorandum? 

A:  No, Nebraska does not have a special legend requirement. 

 

https://ndbf.nebraska.gov/sites/ndbf.nebraska.gov/files/industries/Uniform%20Notice%20of%20Regulation%20A%20%E2%80%93%20Tier%202%20Offering.pdf
https://www.efdnasaa.org/


Q:  Section 8-1108.02(2) says that the Director may require filing with respect to a federal 

covered security under section 18(b)(3) or (4) of the Securities Act of 1933.  Does Nebraska 

currently require such a filing? 

A:   See Chapter 20.  Currently filings are only required for offerings pursuant to a Form D, 

Regulation A, Tier 2, or offerings by federal agricultural co-operatives. 

 

Q:  We are not paying commissions in connection with our offering, but are planning on paying a 

finder’s fee.  How does Nebraska interpret finder’s fees? 

A:  Nebraska interprets finder’s fees as commissions and therefore, may only be paid to a 

registered agent of a Nebraska registered broker/dealer. 

 

Q: Must an issuer of a federal covered security use a Nebraska registered broker-dealer to solicit 

sales in Nebraska? 

A:  See Section 8-1108.02(6):  All federal covered securities offered or sold in Nebraska must be 

sold through a registered agent of a Nebraska registered broker-dealer or by persons exempt 

from broker-dealer registration except in the case of a security offered pursuant to section 

18(b)(4)(F) of the Securities Act of 1933, or pursuant to Federal Regulation A, Tier 2 where no 

commission or other remuneration is paid directly or indirectly for soliciting any prospective 

buyer. 

 

SECURITIES EXEMPT FROM REGISTRATION 

 

Q:  If an issuer has a security that would be exempt under Section 8-1110, does that issuer have 

to use a registered broker/dealer to make that offering? 

A:  Yes, a security exempt from registration under Section 8-1110 is not exempt from using a 

registered broker/dealer even if commissions are not being paid in connection with that offering. 

 

Q:  Section 8-1110(1) discusses municipal bond offerings but only mentions Nebraska bonds.  

Do municipal bond issuers from other states have to register in Nebraska? 

A:  Municipal bonds issued by states other than Nebraska are federal covered securities 

pursuant to Section 18 (b)(4)(E) of the Securities Act of 1933.  These bonds are not required to 

be registered in Nebraska and no notice filing is required by the issuer.   

 

TRANSACTIONAL EXEMPTIONS 

 

Q:  How does Nebraska interpret the isolated transaction exemption found at Section 8-1111(1)? 

A:  Nebraska interprets the isolated transaction exemption to apply on a nationwide basis, not to 

just transactions made within the State of Nebraska.  See also Interpretative Opinion No. 8. 

 

Q:  Is the exemption found at Section 8-1111(2) self-executing? 

A:  Yes, see Interpretative Opinion No, 13 for additional information.  

 

Q.  What are the approved manuals for the manual exemption. 

A.  The Department has approved the manuals published by Mergent’s, Inc.  In addition, the 

Department has approved the OTC Market Group, Inc., OTCQX Best Market and OTCQB 

Venture Market as approved manuals.  See the Department’s Order Designating Manuals. 

 

Q:  Where can I find the record-keeping requirements with respect to Section 8-1111(3)? 

A:  Those requirements are found in Chapter 14 of the Securities Rules. 

https://ndbf.nebraska.gov/sites/ndbf.nebraska.gov/files/doc/legal/orders/20160922-8-11-2a.pdf


 

Q:  Is the accredited investor exemption found at Section 8-1111(8) self-executing? 

A:  Yes, no filing is required to rely upon this exemption.  However, documentation should be 

kept by the issuer with respect to each investor’s accredited status should questions ever arise. 

 

Q:  Is there a form for a filing made pursuant to Section 8-1111(9)? 

A:  No, there is no set form.  However, the filing requirements are listed in Chapter 15 of the 

Securities Rules.  All of the items found in Chapter 15 should be addressed when making a filing 

under Section 8-1111(9). 

 

Q:  Section 8-1111(9) says that “failure to give such notice may be cured by an order issued by 

the director”, what is the format for requesting such an order? 

A:  The requirements for requesting an Order Curing Late Notice (“OCLN”) are found in 

Chapter 19 of the Securities Rules.  These requirements build upon one another depending on 

how late the filing is when received by the Department. 

 

Q:  Do I have to make a filing for a transaction under 8-1111(11)? 

A:  It depends on whether the issuer is paying commissions.  If the issuer is not paying 

commissions, the transaction falls under Section 8-1111(11)(a) and is self-executing.  If 

commissions are paid, the transaction falls under Section 8-1111(11)(b) and a notice filing is 

required.  See also Interpretative Opinion No. 9. 

 

Q:  Can a mutual fund charge 12b-1 fees and still fall under the self-executing portion of Section 

8-1111(11)(a)? 

A:  Yes, these types of fees are permissible and no filing would be necessary. 

 

Q:  Is there a filing required for a transaction under Section 8-1111(14)? 

A:  No, this provision is self-executing.  See also Interpretative Opinion No. 11. 

 

Q:  Where can I find the filing requirements for the notice filing for cooperatives under Section 

8-1111(15)? 

A:  See Chapter 16 of the Securities Rules for those filing requirements.  Note that the 

cooperative must be organized under Nebraska law. 

 

Q:  Our company is adopting an employee stock option plan that qualifies federally under Rule 

701; does Nebraska have a reciprocal state exemption? 

A:  Yes, see Section 8-1111(17) of the Act.  This exemption is self-executing and no filing is 

necessary. 

 

Q:  I am interested in making an intrastate offering, where can I find more information regarding 

intrastate offering exemptions? 

A.  There are two exemptions available for intrastate offerings.  Section 8-1111(23) provides an 

exemption for intrastate offerings under $750,000.00.  See Chapter 38 of the Securities rules for 

more information about the requirements.  Section 8-1111(20) also provides for an exemption or 

certain intrastate offerings.  Pursuant to Chapter 18 of the Securities Rules, the maximum 

amount that can be raised pursuant to this exemption is $1,000,000.00.  Issuers raising 

$750,000.00 or less can elect to rely upon either exemption.   

 



Q:  Our company offers viatical settlements; does Nebraska provide an exemption for these 

contracts? 

A:  Section 8-1111(21) provides an exemption for certain sales of viatical settlements.  The 

conditions surrounding offers and sales of viaticals in Nebraska and for the required notice 

filing are set forth in that section.  If the viatical settlement sales do not qualify for this 

exemption, they must be registered by qualification under Section 8-1107.    

 

Q.  Does Nebraska have an exemption for intrastate crowdfunding. 

A.  Yes.  Section 8-111(24) provides an exemption for intrastate crowdfunding.  See also 

Chapters 39 and 40 of the Securities Rules for more information regarding the crowdfunding 

exemption.   

 

 

GENERAL EXEMPTION QUESTIONS 

 

Q:  Where can I find Nebraska’s filing requirements for a Form D, Regulation 504 filing? 

A:  It is the Nebraska Bureau of Securities’ policy to not accept filings under Form D, 

Regulation 504.  If such a filing were made at the federal level, another exemption would need to 

be found at the state level or the securities must be registered by qualification under Section 8-

1107. 

 

Q:  Does an issuer have to provide disclosure to investors even when that issuer qualifies for an 

exemption under Nebraska law? 

A:  Yes.  Qualifying for an exemption does not exempt that issuer from the anti-fraud provisions 

of the Securities Act of Nebraska found at Section 8-1102.  Full disclosure must still be made to 

all investors. 

 

Q:  Does your office accept filings by fax or email? 

A:  No.  All exemption filings, unless made through the EFD online portal, should be made by 

mail and sent to either the street address:  1526 K Street, Suite 300, Lincoln, Nebraska 68508-

1402 or to the Department’s Post Office Box at:  PO Box 95006; Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5006. 

 

Q:  When a filing requires a fee, who should the check be made out to? 

A:  To the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance. 
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