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State Bank Charter Application Instructions 

Nebraska Department of Banking & Finance 1526 K Street, Suite 300 
http://www.ndbf.nebraska.gov Lincoln, NE 68508-2732 or 
 PO Box 95006 
 Lincoln, NE 68509-5006 
 402-471-2171 

 

Nebraska Supplement to Interagency Charter and Federal Deposit Insurance  
Application For A State Bank Charter 

 
A public hearing shall be set and the date for such hearing on the application shall be not more than ninety (90) days after 
the filing date nor less than fifty (50) days after the last publication notice. The hearing will be conducted pursuant to the 
Department’s Rules of Procedure for Public Hearings, 49 NAC 1, 2, and 3.  
 
The following is intended to assist you in meeting the Department’s requirements prior to the issuance of the bank charter. 
This list is provided for your convenience and may not be all inclusive.  
 

 
 
If you or your client have questions about the application process, please contact the Department of Banking and Finance 
and ask to speak with the Review Examiner for the city in which the proposed bank would be located. 

Application Process 

 1. Prepare the application in typewritten form and duplicate. Sign all papers with ink. Forward the original 
and two (2) copies to the Department.  

   
 2. A check or bank draft in the sum of $2,500 for filing and reviewing the application must accompany the 

application. 
   
 3. The Department will give notice of the application and a public hearing date by publishing in a legal 

newspaper, and by either mailing or emailing notices to area financial institutions. The applicant must 
pay the costs of publication and the newspaper will be instructed to bill the applicant accordingly.  The 
applicant must also pay the certified mailing costs incurred by the Department. 

   
 4. Remit General Reporting Service Fees for hearing transcript.  
   

Post-Approval Process 

 1. Remit $100 fee pursuant to Section 8-602(1) for filing and examining articles of incorporation. A certified 
copy of the articles of incorporation is required. If such articles have been amended to reflect a name 
change, a certified copy of the amended articles will also be required. 

   
 2. A statement must be filed with the Department, signed under oath by either the president, secretary or 

treasurer of the applicant that the paid-up capital stock, surplus, and undivided profits have been paid in. 
   
 3. The requirements of Nebraska Revised Statute Section 8-702 must be met. (FDIC Insurance) 
   
 4. Applications for Approval of Directors must be filed and approved for each director on the Board. 
   
 5. The Board of Directors must determine if it will obtain Executive Officer Licenses for the Bank’s Officers.  

If yes, individual Applications are to be submitted 30 days prior to the charter date.  If no, the Board must 
follow procedures to exempt itself from the process. 

   
 6. A fidelity bond must be secured in accordance with Nebraska Revised Statute Section 8-110.  
   
  7. Effective date of operation must be submitted in writing to the Department. 
   
  8. All requirements in the Order of Approval must be met. 
   
  9. Remit Bank Charter fee of $1.50 per $1,000 of authorized capital stock as set forth in Nebraska Revised 

Statute Section 8-602(3). The minimum fee is $225. 
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